Arizona Telemedicine Council

2024 Arizona Telemedicine Council Schedule

2024 Meeting Dates: January 17th, April 17th, July 17th, & October 16th
Meeting Time: 11:00am - 1:00pm
Location: via webinar until further notice

The Arizona Telemedicine Council was created by the Joint Legislative Budget Committee of the Arizona State Legislature. The Council has oversight for the Arizona Telemedicine Program and the development of its telecommunications network. Senator Robert (“Bob”) Burns, who initiated the legislation that created the Arizona Telemedicine Program, became the first Co-chairman of the Council, which has met quarterly in Phoenix since 1996.


July 17, 2024 Council Meeting


Register Now!

Meeting agenda: (Coming Soon)



Council Members


Former Arizona Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns
Former Representative Regina Cobb, DDS (District 5)
Representative Gail Griffin (District 14)
Senator John Kavanagh (District 23)


Agency Members

Amanda Aguirre, MA, RD, President & CEO, Regional Center for Border Health, Inc.
Robin K. Blitz, MD, Director, Development Pediatric At Barrow Neurological Institute, Phoenix Children's Hospital
Mark Carroll, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Health Choice Arizona
Don Herrington, Interim Director, Arizona Department of Health Services
Will Humble, MPH, Executive Director, Arizona Public Health Association
Neal Jensen, Chief Executive Officer, Cobre Valley Regional Medical Center

Educational Members

Tim Hunter, MD, University of Arizona, College of Medicine (retired)
Lori A. Kemper, DO, Dean, AZ College of Osteopathic Medicine Midwestern University

Public Members

Joel E. Barthelemy, President and CEO, GlobalMed
Sean Clendaniel, Manager, Market Integration
Bart Demaerschalk, MD, MSc, FRCP(C), Neurology, Mayo Clinic Hospital
Michael C. Keeling, Esq., Keeling Law Offices
Melissa Kotrys, CEO, Contexture (umbrella organization of CORHIO and Health Current)
Alan Pitt, MD, Neuroradiology, Barrow Neurological Institute
Brad Tritle, CIPP, Partner, Alira Health
Donna Zazworsky, RN, MS, CCM, FAAN, Chief Clinical Officer, Cenpatico Integrated Care (retired)


Ex-Officio Members – Guests

Bruce Groll, Arizona Department of Education (Retired)
Steve Sowards, Banner Health System


Slideshow of the Past 25 Years of the Arizona Telemedicine Council


The Arizona Telemedicine Council meets on a quarterly basis.  These meetings are open to the public
If you would like to attend or would like more information, please contact:
Carrie Foote at

Share this